The Dark Verse, Vol. 3: Beyond the Grip of Time [Hardcover]

The Dark Verse, Vol. 3: Beyond the Grip of Time [Hardcover]
  • The Dark Verse, Vol. 3: Beyond the Grip of Time [Hardcover]
  • The Dark Verse, Vol. 3: Beyond the Grip of Time Front
  • The Dark Verse, Vol. 3: Beyond the Grip of Time Back
  • $25.00

Author: M. Amanuensis Sharkchild
Cover Designer and Illustrator: John F. Stifter
Release Date: July 1, 2014
Hardcover: Imitation Leather; 211 pages
Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.6 x 1 inches
Publisher: Armored Books; First Edition
Limited Edition: 1,000 printed
Special: Signed by Author

2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards Gold Medal Winner in the Category of Horror
2015 National Indie Excellence Awards Winner for Horror
2015 National Indie Excellence Awards Winner for Best Cover Design - Fiction

Twenty-six short stories of occult, metaphysical, and fantastical horror that will follow you to the visions of your sleep.

The Dark Verse is a multiverse of Lovecraftian terror, spanning different realms and times that touches upon evils that transcend the knowable. Whether an apocalyptic end of a synthetic race of tiny beings, a dragging of a hideous beast to the perfect site of sacrifice, or a merciless curse that folds flesh and bone into itself, there is no escape from the occult horrors that await you within the innumerable folios of The Dark Verse.

This is Sharkchild's third collection of grim and ethereal stories and can be enjoyed independently from the other Dark Verse volumes. The cover of the book is imitation leather with foil stamping on the front, back, and spine; there is no dust cover. All three sides of the pages have black dusting. The artwork in its entirety, including a two-page illustration for each story, was created by John F. Stifter.


  1. The First Innovation
  2. Soul Divided
  3. In Placing the Titan's Emotion
  4. A Lonely, Imprisoned Stranger
  5. What the Water Means
  6. The Long Travel
  7. The Power in a Father
  8. The Stone House
  9. Knave (Part 1)
  10. The Thief of Timeworn Lives and His Fortress
  11. Blood Host Authentication
  12. There They Freeze
  13. That Which Makes Up the World
  14. Knave (Part 2)
  15. The Summit and the Sacrifice
  16. Filling the Empty Throne
  17. The Demise Sequence
  18. Names: Dietchelnin, Dietchellin
  19. Names: Craytick
  20. Names: Vaucifyr (The Unreasoned Voice)
  21. Entering Weightlessness
  22. The Cry of the Crooked
  23. The Truncation of Being by Folding Flesh
  24. The Image of Odd Transaction and Collection
  25. The Changer Box
  26. The Rotting Moments Ending


"At times reminiscent of H.P. Lovecraft, M. Amanuensis Sharkchild is nonetheless unique in his tales, consistently leading you through the strange and unnerving worlds he has woven with an artisan's expertise." -Aaron

"Sharkchild describes these tales as “occult, metaphysical, and fantastical horror”, but that only scratches the surface of the dark dreamscapes you’ll begin to wander as soon as you open the cover. This is the kind of cosmic horror and fantasy that takes you both deep inside yourself and farther away from reality than you’d perhaps care to imagine."

"These stories are written beautifully and really take imagination and deep reflection to understand. If you love mysteries, complex horror, or stories that make you think, then this book series is for you" -Kidiu

Read the story, That Which Makes Up the World:


Check out out the Kickstarter project that made this book possible

Added to cart